- STEP 1: CHECK REQUIREMENTS. Check state and local regulatory information and your organization’s policies to determine your training and certification needs.
- STEP 2: SELECT TRAINING AND EXAM OPTIONS.
- STEP 3: FIND INSTRUCTOR/PROCTOR OR CLASS.
- STEP 4: PURCHASE MATERIALS.
- STEP 5: TAKE COURSE.
- STEP 6: TAKE EXAM.
- ONLINE TRAINING/EXAM Purchase the course and exam voucher. Complete your training. Upon passing the exam, you will receive your food safety certification from your proctor. Check state and local regulatory information and your organization’s policies to determine your training and certification needs.
How do I get a food server certificate?
Step 1: Complete the online food handler course on any device in English or Spanish – only 60 minutes! Step 2: Take the food handlers test online, only 70% to Pass. Retake the test for free if you don’t pass. Step 3: Print, download, or mail order your card immediately after completing the program.
What certifications do you need to serve food?
This is why in the United States, a business that processes, handles or serves food is required to obtain a safe food handling certificate. It’s also referred to as a food handler’s permit, food handler’s card or license. These terms all mean the same thing.
How do I get my ServSafe certificate?
To obtain a certificate, or request one be mailed, examinees can log on to ServSafe.com and select “Download My Certificates”. From there an examinee can print the certificate or request their certificate be mailed to them within 8-10 business days via USPS for a $10 fee.
What is a food service certificate?
The California Food Handler Card law is designed to ensure that restaurant employees receive a reasonable level of training in food safety practices to reduce the potential for foodborne illness. Food handlers must have a California Food Handler Card 30 days from the date of hire.
How much does ServSafe cost?
There are a number of other resources that you can add to your purchase, including a ServSafe manager handbook that retails for around $70. The ServSafe alcohol course and exam are available for $30, and the allergen course and exam cost $22.
Do you need a food hygiene certificate to serve food?
It is not strictly the law that food businesses should make sure all staff have a food hygiene certificate. However, every food business must take responsibility for staff training and supervision when it comes to food safety.
Can I take ServSafe exam online?
Online proctoring at home for the ServSafe® Food Protection Manager Certification Exam is now available! To use the online proctoring service through ProctorU, you must have access to a computer (PC or Mac). Mobile and tablets are not supported. You must also have a working webcam/mic and a private location.
How long does a ServSafe certification last?
Certification Process The National Restaurant Association recognizes the ServSafe Food Protection Manager Certification for a five-year period. ServSafe Alcohol, ServSafe Allergens and ServSafe Food Handler Certificates for a three-year period. However, state or employer requirements can vary.
How long is the ServSafe online course?
ServSafe Manager Online Course: 8-10 hours in length. ServSafe Alcohol Online Course: approximately 4 hours in length.